Open Discussion: What Weird Quirks Do You Find Attractive?

Dita Von Teese and Marilyn Manson

Image Source: VH1

After reading a post on Thought Catalog, I realized that although it’s hard to admit sometimes, everyone has a type or specific qualities that he or she looks for in a lifelong or sexual partner. Maybe you love gothic types or have the hots for artsy bros, who wear baggy sweatshirts. Sometimes, people find the weirdest things endearing and totally irresistible, or some people simply appreciate a good sense of humor, but regardless of who you are, you can’t deny the fact that you find certain physical or personality traits more attractive than others.

Here are the top three things that get me going:

  1. Beards – I don’t know what it is, but guys with facial hair just look way more attractive than hairless guys. This might be a result of me coping with my own lack of a beard. Maybe I’m jealous that I can’t grow a beard, so I try to find a guy with one. Of course, I will still pursue individuals without facial hair. This is simple one trait that gets me all stupid and giddy.
  2. Glasses or a nerdy vibe – This nerd infatuation has been more apparent to me as of late, but I gotta say, I totally dig nerds. I love guys with huge glasses that overpower the rest of their face. Plus, nerds are always super interested in and passionate about certain things, which means that being with that person will always be an intensely intellectual experience where they can always teach you or introduce you to new things. There’s nothing more attractive than someone who can demonstrate their passion for a particular topic or field. For me, it’s film, and I can go on for hours about film theory and the French New Wave.
  3. Idiosyncrasies or odd deficiencies – This may sound completely baffling, but I love it when guys are color blind, have weird allergies, or once, I was with someone, who had sickle cell anemia, and I thought it was the cutest thing. Certain parts of his body were more sensitive than others, so you know where I’m going with that (joking, of course).
New Girl

Image Source: fanlingo.tumblr.com

In the end, it’s important to be yourself and to do you, and who knows, someone out there will find you insanely attractive and appreciate all of your quirks. Remember to follow me on Twitter to discover some of my own quirks.

Leave a Reply

